Listed below are scholarships awarded by the Department of Physics and Astronomy. For more information on scholarships available at the university level please visit the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences scholarship website.

The David Collins Memorial Scholarship

The David Collins Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of David Collins, a very talented former student of this department. This award, established by the family, provides approximately $1500 of support to enable an entering freshman or sophomore physics major to participate in the activities of a research group.

Physics majors are selected by review committee for interviews in Spring Semester. Criteria for consideration include a strong physics background. Finalist determined by mid-Spring. Scholarship is in form of hourly wages for spring and fall semester, plus possibility of summer.

Laura Vernon Scholarship

Award is given in spring (usually $50 each from department and college office). Award based on academic performance. Nomination is made by dept. in early March in connection with LAS Council.

Danielson Awards

Monetary awards presented each spring in memory of Professor Gordon Danielson, who was a long-time, prominent member of our faculty. Award is based on academic performance. Selection is made by Departmental Awards Committee.

Bernice Black Durand Undergraduate Research Scholarship

This scholarship has been established by Bernice Black Durand, a Professor of Physics at the University of Wisconsin who received her B.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Physics from Iowa State University. Its goals are twofold: to promote meaningful undergraduate research and to support women and minorities as undergraduates in the Department of Physics and Astronomy. Candidates are nominated by advisor. Selection is made by Departmental Awards Committee. Scholarship is in form of hourly wages.

Legvold Award

The Sam Legvold Award was set up in the memory of a former faculty member, Dr. Sam Legvold. It is presented each year to a junior physics major to recognize outstanding academic performance and to provide funds for the senior year. Award consists of $500.

Award is based on academic performance. Selection made by Department Award Committee from list of physics juniors.

Helen Jensen Howe Science Scholarship for Women

One award open to women physics majors entering their junior or senior year at ISU. Applicants should demonstrate consistently good scholarship, with a GPA of 3.0 or better. Demonstrated financial need will also be a consideration in the selection of scholarship recipients. The scholarship will be for a minimum of $2,000 and a maximum of $7,000 depending on need. Recipients may re-apply for a second year as long as they meet the established awards criteria.

One scholarship in the amount of $1,000 will be offered to an incoming freshman woman. If she maintains a GPA of 3.0 or better, she will receive $500 during her sophomore year.

If appropriate physics student is not found, committee may consider awarding the scholarship to a woman majoring in another area of science who meets the other criteria outlined above.

Award is based on financial need and academic performance. Apply through Department office. Departmental Awards Committee places nominations with College Office and Financial Aid Department.

Schirber Scholarship for Incoming Freshman

One $500 award given to outstanding freshman or sophomore physics majors or co-majors. Award is based on academic achievement. Department Awards Committee makes selection based on academic records.

Hammer Scholarship for Upperclass Student

One $500 award given to outstanding junior or senior physics majors or co-majors. Award is based on academic achievement. Dept. Awards Committee makes selection based on academic records.

Arie and Catherine Breed Scholarship

Monetary award based on percentage market value of investments.

Must be a U.S. citizen, Iowa resident, and demonstrate financial need. Award will be given to physics student or computer science student. Usually given to an incoming freshman student or transfer student. Awardee will be selected by LAS College.

Fox Memorial Award

Monetary award. This award was established in 1974 by Mrs. Fox in memory of her husband, Gerald W. Fox, who had been a faculty member of physics from 1930-1966 and department head 1946-1961, and who placed a great premium on research ability of potential faculty members.

Basic of this award is excellence in research.

Physics Achievement Award

Supports general department awards for undergraduates based on superior academic performance.

Mal Iles Innovation Awards

Mal Iles was an ISU physics undergraduate and graduate student and Ames laboratory scientist from 1973-1983. Mal died suddenly and unexpectedly of an epileptic attack in May 1983. He was unusually innovative and inventive person in both his scientific and non-scientific activities. His scientific interests included large-scale energy storage and space colonization, while his non-scientific concerns included journalism, mountain climbing and the Liberation Party. The Iles Award is to honor the memory of Mal Iles by awarding each year $1200 cash grants to physical science and engineering undergraduate students who show unusual interest in innovations and inventions.

Students submit a two-page application to a department committee. Academic course grades and financial need are not consideration for this award. More than on award may be presented in a given year.

Thomas D. Rossing Award for Prospective High-School Physics Teachers

Thomas D. Rossing has been a professor of physics at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb, Illinois, since 1971. He was affiliated with Argonne National Laboratory as Scientist-in-Residence from 1974 till 1976 and again from 1990 till 1998. Professor Rossing is the author of a bout 350 publications (including 13 books, 9 US and 11 foreign patents), mainly in acoustics, magnetism, and physics education. His "The physics of Musical Instruments," is a standard reference text on the physics of musical instruments. Professor Rossing is a Fellow of the Acoustical Society of America and AAAS.

This award ($500) is given annually to an undergraduate physics major who is preparing a career as a high-school physics teacher.

Candidates must have a strong academic record and demonstrate a commitment to teaching as a career.

Bowie Physics Fellowship

This award was established to honor and perpetuate the memory of Robert M. Bowie, who received a BS degree in chemistry, and MS and PhD degree in physics in 1929, 1931, and 1933, respectively from ISU. He was the first to receive a PhD in physics at Iowa State. Evelyn Bowie graduate in 1929 with a BS in mathematics from ISU. Candidates are selected by a departmental committee.